Link to homepage


Venue: Tewkesbury Borough Council Offices, Severn Room

Contact: Democratic Services Tel: 01684 272021  Email:

No. Item


Apologies for Absence


Declarations of Interest

Pursuant to the adoption by the Council on 26 June 2012 of the Tewkesbury Borough Council Code of Conduct, effective from 1 July 2012, as set out in Minute No. CL.34, Members are invited to declare any interest they may have in the business set out on the Agenda to which the approved Code applies.


Minutes pdf icon PDF 201 KB

To approve the Minutes of the meeting held on 16 April 2019.



1.   When the continuous alarm sounds you must evacuate the building by the nearest available fire exit. Members and visitors should proceed to the visitors’ car park at the front of the building and await further instructions (during office hours staff should proceed to their usual assembly point; outside of office hours proceed to the visitors’ car park). Please do not re-enter the building unless instructed to do so.


      In the event of a fire any person with a disability should be assisted in leaving the building.  


2.   To receive any announcements from the Chair of the Meeting and/or the Chief Executive.


Items from Members of the Public

a)   To receive any questions, deputations or petitions submitted under Council Rule of Procedure.12.


(The deadline for public participation submissions for this meeting is 21 May 2019).


b)   To receive any petitions submitted under the Council’s Petitions Scheme.


Member Questions properly submitted in accordance with Council Procedure Rules

To receive any questions submitted under Rule of Procedure 13. Any items received will be circulated on 28 May 2019.


(Any questions must be submitted in writing to Democratic Services by, not later than, 10.00am on the working day immediately preceding the date of the meeting).


State of the Borough Presentation

To receive a presentation on the ‘State of the Borough’ from the Leader of the Council for the Council year 2018/19.  


Election of Leader of the Council

To elect a Leader of the Council (who will also be the Chair of the Executive Committee) for the ensuing Municipal Year.   


Election of Deputy Leader of the Council

To elect a Deputy Leader of the Council (who will also be the Vice-Chair of the Executive Committee) for the ensuing Municipal Year.   


Appointment of Deputy Mayor

To appoint the Deputy Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year. 


Membership of Committees, Working Groups, Panels and Boards, Lead Members and Appointment to Outside Bodies pdf icon PDF 126 KB

Any papers available prior to the meeting will be circulated to all Members.

1.      To determine the Membership of the:

  • Executive Committee.
  • Overview and Scrutiny Committee.
  • Audit and Governance Committee.
  • Planning Committee.
  • Licensing Committee.
  • Standards Committee.
  • Ad-hoc Committees:

o   Employee Appeals Committee;

o   Employee Appointments/Disciplinary Committee; and

·         Panels and Liaison Groups as follows:

o   Gloucestershire Police and Crime Panel;

o   Shared Legal Services Joint Monitoring and Liaison Group; and

o   Shared Building Control Joint Monitoring and Liaison Group.

2.      To determine the Membership of Working Groups, Panels and Boards.

3.      In accordance with the Constitution, to receive a report from the Leader of the Council and take any action necessary including the naming of Lead Members.

4.      To determine the Outside Bodies to which the Council should make appointments and the representation on those Bodies.

5.      The Council will at this stage adjourn for a brief period to allow each Committee, as set out below, to hold a formal meeting to conduct the business set out in the enclosed Agenda: 


1.     Overview and Scrutiny Committee.                                  

2.     Audit and Governance Committee.                         

3.     Planning Committee.                                               

4.     Licensing Committee. 

5.     Standards Committee.     

Additional documents:


Mayor of Tewkesbury's Appeal Fund

To appoint three Members of the Council as Trustees of the Mayor of Tewkesbury’s Appeal Fund for the ensuing Municipal Year.


The Mayor and Chief Executive are automatically Trustees and as such Councillor Blackwell cannot be one of the named Trustees for this year.


NB: The Fund is officially called the Mayor of Tewkesbury’s Appeal Fund but this does of course refer to Tewkesbury Borough.    


Garden Community Programme - Garden Town Status for Tewkesbury at Ashchurch pdf icon PDF 149 KB

To agree the decision-making process regarding the delivery of the Garden Town at Ashchurch Tewkesbury as part of the government’s Garden Community Programme.


Down Hatherley, Norton & Twigworth Neighbourhood Development Plan pdf icon PDF 336 KB

To adopt the Down Hatherley, Norton & Twigworth Neighbourhood Development Plan following the community referendum.  

Additional documents:


Separate Business

The Chairman will move the adoption of the following resolution:

That under Section 100(A)(4) Local Government Act 1972, the public be excluded for the following items on the grounds that they involve the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Act.


Separate Minutes

To approve the separate Minutes of the meeting held on 16 April 2019.